Review: The Genius of Birds

The Genius of Birds
The Genius of Birds by Jennifer Ackerman

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Excellent book! I was very impressed by the amount of research the author used to compile for this project. While I was reading the book, I can almost imagine myself watching a documentary in Animal Planet or NatGeo and the author’s descriptive style is almost similar to fiction writers’ narrative technique. Even though, there is an enormous amount of scientific explanations, It feels natural to my untrained ear.
This is my first bird book and I admit that it would be harder to top it off. What suprised me the most was that I have no specific interest in birds at all. But wait!, scrap that. I do remember that my older brother got into pigeons way back in grade school and the early part in high school. He was so passionate in training and testing homing some of them. I do recall, he had a minimum of 5 and had a group of enthusiasts that were teaching him some tricks. He was very diligent and feeding and caring for them but what sparked interest in me was not the actuality of pigeons as pets, but was when I read in our library that these birds do have a mysterious skill of returning back to their lofts unaided with previous knowledge on where they will be left. I said to myself “Whaaatt???” And then I read that “True Navigation” in birds were both fascinating and baffling. That was in Grade School, probably 2nd Grade. Fast forward to 2017 and I got so engaged in reading this book I forgot about my short stint in reading that brief article. Funny how small things could make you remember tiny bits of your past. Information about the Avian family is generous throughout and I thought I was going to be bored but I realized later on, I already reached the end wanting for more. Sadly, I didn’t have the precious time to push through with other works in the bibliography section, instead I came to decide that If there will be a time in the future that I will read another bird book, it would still be this one.

I admit I was too slow to finish this as it took me almost a month ‘coz I kept on rereading the initial chapters almost 3 times because I really liked the content. Even though many questions were left unanswered I still felt satisfied due to the manner in which Ackerman made it genuine for the readers/herself to feel the wonder in nature itself. Yes! We need more Ackermans in animal research!

Finally, before I finish this review, all at once, I have the strongest urge to list this as one of my favorites. Birds are not my favorite but this book is.

Wow!!!Birds are truly amazing. Nature is!

View all my reviews

